# Loading...

College of Agriculture (coa)

The then Nueva Vizcaya Agricultural College (NVAC) gave birth to its first and college department, the College of Agriculture on October 20, 1969. It offered the first four-year degree course, the Bachelor of Science in Agriculture, with two major areas of specialization, Agronomy and Animal Husbandry. Thirty (30) students pioneered the degree courses. After four years, then of the enrollees composed the first batch of graduates.

The conversion of NVAC to Nueva Vizcaya State Institute Technology (NVSIT) on May 22, 1973, paved the way for the College of Agriculture to expand its curricular program offerings to include Bachelor in Agricultural Engineering, Agricultural Education and Home Technology and a two-year Agricultural Technician with specializations in Animal Husbandry and Agronomy.

Further institutional reorganizations resulted in the conversion of the Departments of Agricultural Engineering, Agricultural Education and Home Technology to separate and full-fledged colleges. More degree courses were offered such as the Bachelor in Animal Science, a ladderized course leading to Doctor of Veterinary Medicine (DVM) in SY 1983-1984 and the Bachelor of Science in Agribusiness in SY 1985-1986. These two courses however were weaned from the college, thus creating two more colleges in the University. In 1993, the former College of Inland Fisheries was converted as the Department of Agro-fisheries phasing down the BS Fisheries and offering of BSA major in Agro-Fisheries in the College. In 2006, the BS Fisheries was again offered.

In September 1993, the Philippines-Australia Agricultural Education (AGRITECH) Project of the Educational Projects Implementing Task Force (EDPITAF) designated the College of Agriculture as the Provincial Technical Institute of Agriculture (PTIA). This resulted in the offering of the ladderized Diploma in Agricultural Technology (DAT) and Bachelor in Agricultural Technology (BAT) programs.

In SY 2011-2012, the ladderized Certificate of Agriculture Science – Bachelor of Science in Agriculture was offered incompliance with CHED Memorandum Order 14, s. 2008. In SY 2014-2015, the graduate degree courses were verticalized. The recent revision was made in SY 2018-2019 pursuant to the Outcomes-based quality assurance system as advocated under CMO 46, s. 2012, and by virtue of

Commission en banc Resolution No. 085-2018 dated March 6, 2018 and recently, the CMO No. 23, s 2021 was released. The college took over the offering of Master of Science (Animal Science, Crop Science and Rural Development) and Doctor of Philosophy (Animal Science, Crop Science and Rural Development.)

Able and competent administrators served as deans of the College. The first department head was Dr. Dionisio G. Ducusin until Dr. Candido V. Rosario took over in 1974 and served as dean until 1981. Dr. Rosario was succeeded by Prof. Benjamin Cacho and served until 1984. Prof Godofredo Reasonda served until his death in 1986. His successor, Prof. Heriberto Cancino served for one year before he left to pursue his Ph.D program. Prof. Rodolfo Olinares served in 1988 unitl his untimely demise in 1989. Other deans were Prof. Felicisimo B. Gale until 1991, Dr. Delfin F. Ordonio, until 1993, Dr. Allan C. Genato until 1996, Dr. Gideon A. Andres, until 1998, Dr. Orland P. Espiritu until June 2003, Dr. Liberty G. Torres assumed the position on July 3, 2003 and served for more than 11 years, Dr. Manolo T. Valdez, until 2018, and Dr. Reynald A. delos Trinos, until June 20, 2021. Dr. Aldwin D. Pablo, the present Officer-in-charge, Office of the Dean of the College was designated on June 21, 2021, by the Officer-in-charge, Office of the President of the University, Hon. Ruth Raña Padilla.

The College is presently accredited through National Agriculture and Fisheries Education System-Commission on Higher Education (NAFES-CHED) as Provincial Institute of Agriculture (PIA) and Provincial Institute of Fisheries (PIF) holding the status from 2009. Likewise, the college holds the prestigious status of being a Center of Development in Agriculture issued by the CHED on March 17, 2016. Also, the college recognized as Delivering Higher Education Institution (DHEI) for Graduate Programs in Agriculture cum DOST project STRAND.


A premier university in a global community


To develop an empowered, productive, and morally upright citizenry through high-quality, innovative, and relevant instruction, research, extension, and entrepreneurship programs adhering to international standards.


To model a learning center for Agriculture, Fisheries, Community Development and Entrepreneurship providing relevant education program of international standards and producing responsible and competitive graduates.

  1. Offer courses in Agriculture and Fisheries with adequate experiential and competency formation strategies;

  2. Promote adoption and technology use through student and faculty engagement in community development;

  3. Establish and strengthen functional linkages with agricultural institutions/ agencies as a means of keeping abreast with new programs and directions in agricultural development;

  4. Enhance quality teaching through continuous faculty development and use of state-of-the-art facilities; and

  5. Attain at least 85% stakeholder satisfaction.

Undergraduate Programs
  1. Certificate of Agricultural Science

  2. Bachelor of Science in Agriculture


    • Animal Science

    • Crop Science (Agronomy/Horticulture)

    • Crop Protection (Plant Pathology/Entomology)

    • Soil Science

    • Agricultural Economics & Marketing

    • Agriculture Extension & Communication

  3. Bachelor of Science in Fisheries

    • Ladderized program

Graduate Programs
  1. Doctor of Philosophy by Research

    • Crop Science

    • Animal Science

  2. Doctor of Philosophy

    • Crop Science

    • Animal Science

    • Rural Development

  3. Master of Science by Research

    • Crop Science

    • Animal Science

  4. Master of Science

    • Crop Science

    • Animal Science

    • Rural Development


NVSU CEN-BSABE students clinch awards in PAEStigan X competition

Nueva Vizcaya State University - College of Engineering BSABE students won awards in the recently co...

College Officials

Aldwin D. Pablo Professor III

College Dean


Wilfredo A. Dumale, Jr Professor VI

University President and Public Servant


Jonar I. Yago Professor VI

Vice President for Research, Extension and Training


Elbert A. Sana Professor III

Director, CRRDC

College Professors

Manolo T. Valdez Professor VI